Brereton Lake Resort

The other week one of my co-workers asked if I wanted to drive out to the Whiteshell to go for a hike. My immediate response was, absolutely not. I do like to get in touch with nature once and awhile, but a hike? A hike to Bear Lake? Once again, absolutely not. Honestly, I am more of a ‘bum around the city’ kind of guy, but when my dashing co-worker mentioned that we could stop at one of the little diners on the way back to the Peg’, my interest peaked. To make a long story short, we hiked for hours, it was terrible etc. etc., and on the way back we stopped into Brereton Lake Resort. Lucky for me, they had a club on the menu.

As soon as I walked in the door of the Brereton Lake Resort I felt nostalgic. It felt like I was a kid again going into the corner store at the lake, and I’m sure lots of people have memories tied to the BLR. It’s a Corner store at the front, restaurant in the back, and they have 12 cabins you can rent. We grabbed a table and settled in.

The restaurant itself is quite nice, and it seems they had some renovations done in recent years judging by its modern/sleek look. But no matter how modern it is, you still feel like you’re at the lake (probably because you are.) There are a few things I’d like to point out – one being that the menu has tons of options including one of my personal favs – frings. Who doesn’t want half fries half onion rings!? Next, the arms on my chair had sheets covering them – that one threw me off. And three, the condiments are packed in a charming tin in the middle of the table – a nice vintage touch.

Now lets break down the club. One thing that hurt was that they had no lettuce! The owner apologized in advance though so I knew what I was getting myself into. Otherwise it came stacked fairly high with plenty of tomato, bacon, chicken, cheese, and 3 pieces of bread. The problem with this club is it seemed real greezy and salty. The chicken was fried – and just wasn’t top notch. Also, my sandwich came in 3 pieces; I’m not too sure how you cut a sandwich into 3 pieces the same size…I hope someone in the back didn’t just get hungry. All in all this club filled me up and I enjoyed putting it to the test, but it didn’t crack the upper echelon of clubs.

Oh and by the way, if you made it this far in the post, I have a confession. The hike to Bear Lake was beautiful, fun, and I am thankful I was asked to go! But if anyone out there is interested in this little adventure, keep in mind it’s a tough trail – so proceed with caution.

If you want more info on where this place is, here’s the website: www.breretonlakeresort.ca

Till next time,

Rating: 5.9/10

Price: $13.59

2 thoughts on “Brereton Lake Resort

Leave a Reply

