State & Main

Just when you thought we had enough big-box restaurants like Moxie’s and Earl’s, another one pops up! This time it’s out in Transcona nuzzle in Kildonan Place shopping mall. If you’ve been to Moxie’s, Earl’s, or Joey’s, you know what to expect from State & Main – if you’ve walked into one, you’ve walked into them all. That being said, I’m never terribly disappointed in the food at these places, and I usually leave satisfied! So, it’s time I take you out to T-cons to see what State & Main is all about.

The reason why State & Main might seem so familiar is because it’s the same owners as Original Joe’s, and they even share the same head office is Calgary. Once you step foot in the door you will be taken away in the sultry mood lighting and feel like you are in a commercial. Ok, maybe not, but that’s what they are going for.

There are a couple things I’d like to point out before we get to the club. 1- the menu is open face, therefore you can’t close it to show you are ready to order. How is the waitress suppose to know!? And 2- whoever thought of the name “Crafty Thursdays” for their Thursday drink special needs to sit long and hard and ask themselves, if that’s the best alliteration they could come up with? It’s like they have the second coming of Jay-Z writing their menu.

ANYWAYS, lets talk club. State & Main surprised me when I saw they offer 3 different clubs. BUT, I could not find a traditional club with bread on the menu. Instead there was the club burger, club wrap, and applewood salmon club. It was a tough choice, but I wasn’t feeling too adventurous and went with the burger club. It came jam packed with fixins, and even had plenty of avocado – a nice touch! Where this club lost me was on the big greezy bun, I simply got tired of eating it. This club wasn’t the worst, but it wasn’t the best, but I don’t think I would order it again. One nice thing was that all meals come with 2 sides, and there are lots of options including….corn bread.

So, State & Main – what’s the final verdict? Meh, could live with it, could live without it. Go to any of these box restaurants for the same food, vibe, and price.

Oh yeah, and this is my 50th post! So, it’s time to celebrate, who wants to go clubbin!?

Price: $13.50

Rating: 6/10

State and Main on Urbanspoon

3 thoughts on “State & Main

  1. I remember the day this “sandwiches not bars” blog was born and I’ve been hooked ever since! Reading your reviews is almost as good as eating a real club…almost. Looking forward to the next 50!

Leave a Reply

