Promenade Cafe and Wine

The Promenade Cafe and Wine has been on my hit list for quite some time now. Something about the location mixed with the signage always caught my attention, but for some reason I’ve never stopped to dine. We’ll the time has come, and now it’s my turn to put their club to the test.

First I’d like to point out that this little cafe is St. B is SUPER charming. In the spring of 2012 new ownership forced the Promenade Cafe to rebrand forging a French café/bistro fusion that sits just over the Provencher Bridge. Classic dark wood tables are accompanied by smooth lighting and sophisticated décor inside the restaurant. The second I walked in I knew the Promenade Cafe was something special.

The restaurant seats 90 while overlooking the Esplanade Riel, and although I dined in the afternoon, I bet the restaurant is as equally (or more) enchanting after the sun goes down. Now let’s see if they put as much effort into their food as they do their restaurant, and spoiler alert… they do.

Although I have some good and bad things to say about the club at the Promenade Cafe and Wine, I genuinely feel they put 110% into their clubhouse. From the presentation, down to the freshness of the produce, it was spot on. Not to mention it has real turkey and melted Bothwell cheese that caress this baby.

Now here is where things take a spin, I hate to say it but… the club tasted bland. I can’t even put my finger on why that is, but it just didn’t do it for me. I saw 10 other people order it when I was in there, and I hope it did it for them. But for me, nope! It had all the right ingredients but the taste factor came up short. That being said I’ll go back to the Promenade Cafe and Wine ASAP, but I’ll eat something else.

One nice thing about this place is that they pair a wine with each menu item so you don’t even have to think about what tastes good with what. And for the record, the clubhouse is paired with a chardonnay.

Oh and just a quick tip, I would try to avoid the parking lot. It is small, awkward, and a recipe for bumper bumps.

I also found this mini-ad on youtube if you wana see more of the restaurant before you hit it.

Price: $12.00

Rating: 6/10

Promenade Cafe and Wine on Urbanspoon

4 thoughts on “Promenade Cafe and Wine

Leave a Reply

